New opportunity for Enisei to write history

After playing with a near full team in Sochi, Brive will play again with a very overhauled side at home. Enisei-STM definitely have another shot to make history and become the first team outside the Six Nations to win away from home.

Enisei could also benefit from a well-known weather. A cold and dry Russian weather is forecast for tomorrow evening. Thomas Halse didn’t forget last week awful conditions. « If the weather stays clear we can play some more enjoyable rugby and anything is possible. »

Alexander Pervukhin made some changes from the side who heavily lost last week. In the forwards, hard biting lock Viacheslav Krasylnyk make his return in the starting line-up. Usual lock Maxim Gargalic moves down to back row as Vitaly Orlov leaves the squad. Samoan recruit Jake Grey will make his first apparence for Enisei from the bench. He will add depth to the front row. Latvian scrum-half Jurijs Baranovs keeps the outside centre spot. Biggest news from the backs is Ramil Gaisin return from injury. He will start at full back. Thomas Halse moves to the wing as Igor Kurashov goes to the bench. Evgeny Elgin will be the sub at lock.

Brive head coach Nicolas Godignon decided to remove a lot of usual starters from the squad. Brive’s stars Gaëtan Germain, Arnaud Mignardi, Nicolas Bézy and Dominiko Waqaniburotu leave the squad. Undisputed starters Guillaume Namy, Francois Da Ros and Patrick Toetu are also out of the 23. The French coach chose to start an inexperienced front row with a very young bench. He changed every backs excepting American speedster Takudzwa Ngwenya. Star centre Seremaia Burotu returns in the starting line-up.


Brive :
1. Damien Lavergne
2. Guillaume Ribes
3. Kevin Buys
4. Wilhelm Steenkamp
5. Johan Snyman
6. William Whetton
7. Said Hireche
8. Sisa Koyamaibole
9. Vasil Lobzhanidze
10. Thomas Laranjeira
11. Benito Masilevu
12. Seremaia Burotu
13. Christopher Tuatara
14. Taku Ngwenya
15. Benjamin Lapeyre

16. Thomas Acquier, 17. Vivien Devisme, 18. Soso Bekoshvili, 19. Arnaud Mela, 20. Julien Le Devedec, 21. Jean-Baptiste Pejoine, 22. Sevanaia Galala, 23. David Delarue


Enisei-STM : 
1. Andrei Polivalov
2. Stanislav Selskii
3. Innokentiy Zykov
4. Uldis Saulite
5. Vyacheslav Krasylnyk
6. Mikheil Gachechiladze
7. Maxim Gargalic
8. Anton Rudoy
9. Alexey Shcherban
10. Yuri Kushnarev
11. Denis Simplikevich
12. Dmitri Gerasimov
13. Jurijs Baranovs (c)
14. Thomas Halse
15. Ramil Gaisin

16. Shamil Magomedov, 17. Valery Morozov, 18. Jake Grey, 19. Evgeny Elgin, 20. Igor Kurashov, 21. Konstantin Uzunov, 22. Aleksei Mikhaltsov, 23. Andrey Temnov.

Credits :